Momentum Exception

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Momentum Exception

Post by SGT on Sat Dec 03, 2016 8:34 pm

8.5.2.a Exception states " When a defensive player intercepts an opponent's forward pass; intercepts or recovers an opponent's fumble or backward pass; or an R player catches or recovers a scrimmage kick or free kick between his 5-yard line and the goal line, and his original momentum carries him into the end zone where the ball is declared dead in his team's possession or it goes out of bounds in the end zone, the ball belongs to B at the spot where the pass or fumble was intercepted or recovered or the kick was caught or recovered."

B20 intercepts a pass at B's 2 yard line. His momentum carries him into the end zone. If he falls down or takes a knee the ball comes out to the 2 yard line.

1. What if he tries to escape the defenders and still gets tackled in the end zone?

2. What if he fumbles the ball and team B recovers in the end zone?

3. What if he fumbles the ball out of the end zone? Would force be a factor?

In all cases B20 never left the endzone

The answer for all 3 questions is B's ball at the 2 unless B committed a penalty in the EZ

Also important, the BJ should have used the bean bag to mark the spot at the 2 yard line.

Here is a link to a great video explaining the momentum exception (in 5 of the plays momentum exception should be applied and in the final play momentum should not be applied - each play the covering official should be dropping a bean bag):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYOTc5Qgz7U&t
avatar
SGT
Admin

Posts : 22
Join date : 2016-11-30
Age : 52
Location : Rockford

View user profile http://nfhs-rules-talk.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum